Find out what other alumni from our year are up to. If you would like your snippet included in the next issue email us.

Find out what other alumni from our year are up to.

Dr. Jenine Arab-O’Mally

Graduation Year: 1986

Dr. Jenine Arab-O’Mally BSc’86 was recently awarded the Progress Club Women of Excellence Award 2015 – Health Sport and Wellness. She was recognized for her valuable professional, community, and professional accomplishments. In addition, Jenine was also chosen as one of the Top 25 Women in Dentistry (Dental Products Report), for her leadership and contribution to progressive advancements in the industry.

Dr. Leroy Lowe

Graduation Year: 1986

Dr. Leroy Lowe, DipENG’83, BSc’86, EMBA’00 received the 2016 award for a Distinguished Contribution to Cancer Prevention from the Environmental Working Group (EWG) in San Francisco. Leroy is President of Getting to Know Cancer (www.gettingtoknowcancer.or) and is pictured here at the award dinner with Ken Cook, EWG President.

Rachél Starbuck (Ivarsson Klein)

Graduation Year: 1985

Rachél Starbuck (Ivarsson Klein) BA’85 became Museum Director for the Luck Area Historical Society in Wisconsin last June. Rachel is in charge of museum operations and developing their programming, events, and fund raising efforts. Luck is located 90 minutes northeast of Minneapolis Twin Cities, and is the Home of the Duncan Yo-Yo (where over 30,000,000 were made and sold between the 1940s-1960s).

Nancy (Plant) Pipes

Graduation Year: 1983

Nancy (Plant) Pipes BA’83 retired last June after 31 years as a high school English teacher in Alberta and New Brunswick. This past fall, she and her husband, Dan, moved to Iqaluit to begin their next adventure. After Dan retires from the RCMP, the long-term plan is to settle in Nova Scotia, where their two adult children (Sam and Alex) currently live.

Dr. Brian Flemming

Graduation Year: 1959

Dr. Brian Flemming BSc’59, LLD’14 was recently appointed to the Council of Canadian Academics (CCA) Expert Panel on the Transportation Needs of an Aging Population.
An international lawyer and a public policy advisor, he is one of Canada’s leading experts on transportation policy and the international law of the sea. He is a also a member of the Order of Canada and has two honorary degrees. 

Len Canfield

Graduation Year: 1965, 1966, fall2016

Len Canfield Dip Journalism ’65, BA ’66 is a Life Member of the Canadian Public Relations Society-NS. Len’s long-standing commitment to CPRS was recognized recently, when fellow alumni Pat Brownlow BA ’68, also a CPRS life member, presented him with the Society’s 50-Year Membership Certificate. Len was in the last Saint Mary’s graduating class (’65) of the former joint School of Journalism of King’s, Saint Mary’s, and Mount Saint Vincent Universities.

Blair Beed

Graduation Year: 1977, fall2016

Blair Beed BComm '77, author of Titanic Victims in Halifax Graveyards, was a special guest at the 2016 joint Nomadic and British Titanic Societies Convention in Belfast, UK. His latest book is Mersey River Lodge - A Window on History and Nature (with photographs by David Burns and Farhad Vladi), published by Nimbus. Blair continues to volunteer with the restoration of Saint Patrick's Parish in Halifax and is a regular history guest on Rogers Radio.

Jenine Arab O’Malley

Graduation Year: 1986, fall2016

Jenine Arab O’Malley BSc ’86 was awarded the 2015 Progress Club Women of Excellence Award - Wellness and Sport, in recognition of her valuable professional and community accomplishments.

Brenda M. Hogan

Graduation Year: 1991, fall2016

Brenda M. Hogan BComm ’91 was appointed co-chair of Canadian Women in Private Equity. She is also the recipient of the 2015 Amethyst Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements by Ontario Public Servants. Brenda received the award in recognition of her work as a Senior Investment Manager with the Ontario Capital Growth Corporation for helping to transform the province’s venture capital program from one reliant on tax credits to one driven by market-based returns. 

Liette Doucet

Graduation Year: 1991, fall2016

Liette Doucet BEd ’91 was recently elected President of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union.